Rad Reading-September

Book: Old Yeller by Fred Gipson

This month I read Old Yeller by Fred Gipson. The setting of the story is Texas in the 1800’s with a family of a mom, dad, two sons Travis age 14, and little Arliss age 5. The dad leaves to go to a trading place far away with his friends. Later a old beat up yellow lab dog eats there meat over night, Travis gets mad and has a grudge until they start to do things together like hunting, Then Travis realizes what a good dog Old Yeller is.

I liked the book because it was about a dog and I love dogs but also Old Yeller was a great enthusiastic dog that made an amazing hunter. I liked how Travis and Old Yeller would hunt together.

My favorite character in the book was little Arliss. He was crazy, he played in the drinking water and would throw rocks at people that he got mad at ( but not his mom).

My favorite quote from the book was… “ But I wasn’t the only good rock thrower in the family, Arliss was only 5 years old, but I’d spent a lot of time showing him how to throw a rock, but now I wish I hadn’t.’’ I liked that quote because it hinted that little Arliss was about to pelt him with rocks.

One thought on “Rad Reading-September”

  1. Nice job! Remember to italicize the title. Also, you need to include and quote and explanation of the quote for the trait of your favourite character. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *